Intercultural Communication Interest Group 2023 Business Meeting

Central States Communication Association April 1 Saturday, 2023 From 11:00 am to 12:15 pm (location - Sterling 2)

Officers

- Chair: Seokhoon Ahn, Central Washington University
- Vice Chair: Andrew Donofrio, St. Lawrence University
- Secretary: Emi Kanemoto, Southern Illinois University
- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of 2022 minutes
- III. Report on 2023 submissions (see Appendix A)
- IV. Top Paper Awards
 - a. Top faculty paper: "Being the Needle in the Haystack:" The addition of "blending" and "co-cultural networking" as practices to Orbe's (1998) Co-Cultural Theory by Ahmet Akoy and Amy H. Heuman
 - b. Top student paper: *Voices from Palestine: Perceptions of Censorship on Palestinian's Use of Social Media* by Cem İsmail Addemir
- V. New Business
 - a. Nominations/elections of new officers
 - i. Vice-chair:
 - ii. Secretary:
 - b. Reports from Thriving Together: IC and ERICC Panel
 - c. Discussion on 2024 convention
 - i. Discussion on the 2024 Theme:
 - ii. Solicitation of CSCA 2024 potential panels
 - iii. Sign-up for reviewers for the 2024 convention
 - d. Announcement of new officers
 - e. Change of new leadership: Next year planner
- VI. Announcements & Closing

Appendix A. 2023 IC Interest Group Planner Report

Number of Panel Slots & Submissions

- 8 slots: 1 business meeting, 3 discussion sessions, 1 special session for museum tour 3 paper sessions.
- 11 papers (6 faculty, 5 student) were submitted, and one paper was rejected.
- 4 discussion panels (one co-sponsored) including one museum tour were submitted, and all were accepted.

Awards

- Top faculty paper recipients: Ahmet Aksoy, Columbia College South Carolina and Amy N. Heuman, Texas Tech University
- Top student paper recipient: Cem İsmail Addemir, Illinois State University

¥	2021	2022	2023
Slots	9	8	8
Paper submissions	10 (8)	6 (6)	11 (10)
Discussion panels	2 (2)	2 (2)	2 (2)
Special panel	0	0	1 (1)
Paper panel submissions	1 (1)	0	0
Co-sponsored panels	2 (2)	0	1 (1)
Reviewers	12	11	24

From 2021 to 2023 (parentheses indicate accepted)

Special Thanks to the Reviewers!

Ahmet Aksoy, Alberto Gonzalez, Alicia Wireman, Anjana Mudambi, Becky DeGreeff, C. Kyle Rudick, Carolyn Calloway-Thomas, Diana Trebing, Elizabeth Lozano, Emi Kanemoto, EunYoung Lee, Jeevani Sammeta, Jennifer Willis-Rivera, John R. Baldwin, Kathryn Bradley, Kim Omachinski, Lara Martin Lengel, Linsay Cramer, Marcos Lopez Acosta, Nurhayat Bilge, Racheal Ruble, Renata Kolodziej-Smith, Seokhoon Ahn, Xiaodong Kuang