2016 Call

Call for Papers and Panels

2016 Central States Communication Association (CSCA)
Annual Convention in Grand Rapids, Michigan
April 13-17, 2016



The Rhetorical Theory and Criticism Interest Group invites the submission of competitive papers, panels, roundtable discussions, and innovative programming for the 2016 CSCA convention in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Our interest is dedicated to preserving and promoting scholarship and teaching in rhetorical theory and rhetorical criticism. We welcome a range of topics and we especially encourage members to address issues related to the convention theme of Foundation. In terms of panels, preference will be given to those with panelists representing multiple institutions rather than a single institution.

We welcome a variety of formats, including competitive paper panels, paper panels, discussion panels, spotlight panels, and debate panels. We strongly encourage the submission of panels that are co-sponsored with other CSCA units. Please contact the Rhetorical Theory and Criticism Interest Group Chair for help coordinating co-sponsored panels. Possible topics for panels include: dismantling or troubling the foundation of rhetorical theory and criticism, investigating the 2016 presidential election through foundational literature, collaborating in cross-disciplinary ways to find new areas of scholarship, reflecting on key foundational ideas and concepts, and/or debates about the future direction or current state of our field.

Awards: The Rhetorical Theory and Criticism Interest Group presents two awards. The Karlyn Kohrs Campbell Award is named after distinguished scholar Karlyn Kohrs Campbell and is presented to the author(s) of the Top Paper submitted to the Rhetorical Theory and Criticism Interest Group. The David Zarefsky Award is named after distinguished scholar David Zarefsky and is presented to the author(s) of the Top Student Paper submitted to the Rhetorical Theory and Criticism Interest Group. Both awards come with a cash prize and certificate at the annual convention.

Guidelines for Submission:

(1)  Papers: Only completed papers will be accepted. Papers must conform to the most current APA standards and include a title and a brief abstract. The word “STUDENT” should be marked on all papers written by student authors. Student authored papers do not include those co-authored with faculty members. Author names and any identifying information must be removed prior to submission. A Competitive Paper Submission Form must be submitted as a separate attachment along with the paper. This form is located on the CSCA website: www.csca-net.org

(2)  Panels: Discussion and paper panel submissions must include the following: (a) title, (b) description (75 words or less), (c) rationale (75 words or less), and (d) a complete list of participants along with their institutional affiliations, contact information (address, e-mail, and telephone), and if they are CSCA Members. Paper panels should also include titles and brief abstracts (100 words or less) for each paper. Submitters must use the Discussion Panel Form or Paper Panel Form. These forms are located on the CSCA website: www.csca-net.org

All papers must be submitted electronically using Microsoft Word. Documents sent using any other format will be returned to the sender. An e-mail acknowledging receipt of paper and panel proposals will be sent for each submission. All media requests must be made at the time of submission. Please only request media if it is absolutely essential to your presentation, as media requests will be closely examined before approval. Laptop computers will not be made available for presentations. Your submission implies that you agree to follow appropriate presentation guidelines if your paper/panel is accepted (i.e., it is generally unacceptable to read your paper to those in attendance).

Submissions must be received by October 3, 2015.

Send submissions electronically using Microsoft Word to the following:

Kristen L. McCauliff, PhD
Department of Communication Studies
Ball State University