Outstanding New Teacher Award

The Outstanding New Teacher Award recognizes individuals early in their professional career who are showing distinction as teachers. Nominees may be teaching at any level from grade school through graduate school. The committee reserves the right to award several individuals at different academic levels (e.g., K-12, community college, university). Nominees must (a) be in their first five years of full-time teaching; (b) be members of CSCA; and (c) attend the conference the year in which the award is presented. Nominees who have more than five years teaching experience at two or more levels, but no more than five years at their most recent teaching level, may also be considered. Prior recipients are not eligible.
To be considered for the Outstanding New Teacher Award, nominees must electronically submit a nomination packet not to exceed 20 pages excluding cover page, index page, curriculum vita, and/or divider pages. Packets that exceed the page limit will be returned without review. Nomination packets must include (1) a letter of nomination citing the nominee's accomplishments; (2) the nominee's current curriculum vita; (3) three letters of support from students, colleagues, supervisors, and/or administrators; (4) course/instructor evaluations from no more than three recent academic terms, including comments and numerical ratings with an explanation of rating scale norms; (5) a description of the nominee's teaching load, including student advising; and (6) at least two samples of instructional materials/resources. All of these materials must be combined into a single .pdf file and submitted to the committee chair.
The materials must be received by February 1, 2014. Please submit the materials and any inquiries electronically to:
Dr. Jimmie Manning
Department of Communication
Northern Illinois University
The recipients of the Outstanding New Teacher Award are recognized at the Hall of Fame Awards Luncheon and Business Meeting at the 2014 CSCA convention.

Past recipients of the award are: